We are pleased to announce the 23rd Annual Critical Theory Roundtable, which will take place October 1st-3rd, 2015, at Yale University in New Haven, Connecticut. The CTR brings together a diverse group of academics, including faculty and graduate students, working in the tradition of critical theory broadly understood, and spanning the academic disciplines of Philosophy, Political Science, Sociology, History, Literary Studies, Law, and European Studies.

This year, in conjunction with a symposium hosted by Yale’s History Department marking the 20th anniversary of Strange Multiplicity, our conference will kick off at 5pm on Thursday, October 1st with a lecture entitled “A View of Transformative Reconciliation” by Dr. James Tully, Distinguished Professor of Political Science, Law, Indigenous Governance and Philosophy, University of Victoria. The lecture and attending discussion will take stock of the book’s legacy and of the trajectory of its major themes into the twenty-first century, and look forward to future opportunities for interdisciplinary developments across the fields of political theory, indigenous studies, and intellectual history. A welcome reception will follow.

Panels and roundtable discussions will begin on the morning of Friday, October 2nd, ending with a keynote address at 5pm, entitled “Critical Theory Between the Sacred and the Profane”, by Dr. Peter Gordon, Amabel B. James Professor of History, Harvard University. A cocktail reception will follow, hosted by the Whitney Humanities Center. Panels will continue throughout the day on Saturday, October 3rd.

Participants include:

Seyla Benhabib, Hauke Brunkhorst, Rahel Jaeggi, Nancy Fraser, Maeve Cooke, Gordon Finlayson, Max Pensky, Turkuler Isiksel, Alessandro Ferrara, Roy Ben-Shai, Andrew Buchwalter, Allan Breedlove, Karen Ng, Karuna Mantena, George Shea, Stephen Bourque, Peter Verovsek, Paul Linden-Retek, Brian Milstein, Clara Picker, Stefan Eich, James Ingram, Fred Lee, Lillian Cicerchia, David Ingram, Umur Basdas, Marcia Morgan, Jorge Valadez, Leamon Bazil, Kevin Olson, Gabriel Rockhill, Jeff Flynn, Pablo Gilabert, Jessica Wielgus, Yara Frateschi, and Lenny Moss


This conference has been made possible by the generous support of the Whitney and Betty Macmillan Center for International and Area Studies’ Edward J. and Dorothy Clarke Kempf Memorial Fund, the Department of Political Science, the Yale Program for the Study of Antisemitism, and the Whitney Humanities Center, Yale University.


Seyla Benhabib, Anna Jurkevics, Erin Pineda, Umur Basdas